Creative Writers Reading Series

Creative Writers Reading Series

Smith Creative Writers Reading Series

Celebrated writers of poetry, fiction, and literary non-fiction visit campus several times each year to give lectures, readings, discussions, and book signings. Visiting author readings are held at 6:00 p.m. (preceded by receptions at 5:30 p.m.) in the Smith Chapel. All events are free and open to the public. Presented with the support of the Clarence A. and Eugenie Baumann Smith Fund.


September 21 – Eric Freeze, Fiction and Non Fiction

Eric Freeze

Eric Freeze is author of the nonfiction collection Hemingway on a Bike and the short story collections Invisible Men and Dominant Traits. He has published stories, essays, and translations in numerous periodicals including Boston ReviewHarvard Review, and The Southern Review. He teaches creative writing at Wabash College and in Butler University's MFA program. He lives in Crawfordsville, Indiana and Nice, France.


October 5 – Cristina García, Fiction

Cristina García

Cristina García is the author of six novels: King of Cuba; The Lady Matador’s Hotel; A Handbook to Luck; Monkey Hunting; The Agüero Sisters, winner of the Janet Heidiger Kafka Prize; and Dreaming in Cuban, finalist for the National Book Award. García has edited two anthologies, Bordering Fires: The Vintage Book of Contemporary Mexican and Chicano/a Literature and Cubanísimo: The Vintage Book of Contemporary Cuban Literature. She is also the author of three works for young readers: Dreams of Significant Girls, The Dog Who Loved the Moon, and I Wanna Be Your Shoebox.


October 19 – David Kirby, Poet

David Kirby

David Kirby's collection The House on Boulevard St.: New and Selected Poems was a finalist for the National Book Award in 2007. Kirby is the author of Little Richard: The Birth of Rock ‘n’ Roll, which the Times Literary Supplement of London called “a hymn of praise to the emancipatory power of nonsense.” Kirby’s honors include fellowships from the National Endowment of the Arts and the Guggenheim Foundation. His latest poetry collection is Get Up, Please.  


November 2 – Sweet Sorrow Reading

Graduating Students read from their BFA theses. Reading will take place at 6:00 p.m. in Smith Chapel.


Previous Visiting Authors

Previous visiting authors have included: Corey Zeller, Al Maginnes, John Gallaher, Wendell Mayo, Lia Purpura, Paisley Rekdal, Caitlin Horrocks, Robert Michael Pyle, Alice Friman, John Minichillo, Laura Kaschsiske, Thom Conroy, Sarah Gerkensmeyer, Heather Slomski, Elizabeth Kadetsky, Katie Ford, Michael Byers, Charles Baxter, and many more.