Honors and Awards Convocation recognizes academic excellence

69th annual event at Penn State Behrend
Ceremony audience and awards

Penn State Behrend held its 69th annual Honors and Awards Convocation on Sunday, April 22, 2018.

Credit: Penn State

ERIE, Pa. — Penn State Behrend held its 69th annual Honors and Awards Convocation on Sunday, April 22. Recipients of major awards for the 2017-18 academic year were:


  • Irvin H. Kochel Award Hannah Carlino, Saxonburg, Pennsylvania
  • T. Reed Ferguson Award Karina Cuadrado, Tao Alta, Puerto Rico; Hannibal Pharathikoune, Okinawa, Japan
  • Thomas H. Turnbull Award Natalie Szalajko, South Bend, Indiana
  • Eric A. and Josephine Walker Award — Jason Pettner, Beaver Falls, Pennsylvania
  • Archie K. Loss Undergraduate Honors Thesis Award — Alexandra Alfonso Castro, Carolina, Puerto Rico; Kymberly Drapcho, Erie
  • Outstanding First-Year Student — Daniel Wheeler, Erie
  • Penn State Behrend Council of Fellows Undergraduate Research Award — Jonathon Schrecengost, Greensburg, Pennsylvania
  • Benjamin A. Lane Outstanding Service Award — Kristy Bunce, Administrative Support Coordinator, School of Engineering
  • Division of Undergraduate Studies Award, First Year — Madison Clapper, Hollidaysburg, Pennsylvania
  • Division of Undergraduate Studies Award, Second Year — Dalton Dougherty, Mayport, Pennsylvania
  • Outstanding Tutor Award, Business — Margo McCullough, Meadville, Pennsylvania
  • Outstanding Tutor Award, Engineering — Joseph Reynolds, Saegertown, Pennsylvania
  • Outstanding Tutor Award, Mathematics — Gordon Garrett, Wexford, Pennsylvania
  • Outstanding Tutor Award, Science — Alec Payne, Beaver, Pennsylvania
  • Outstanding Tutor Award, Writing — Andrew DeVarney, Schwenksville, Pennsylvania


  • Accounting — Brianna Riley, Bethel Park, Pennsylvania
  • Pennsylvania Institute of Certified Public Accountants (PICPA) Award — Catherine Brooks, Erie
  • Institute of Management Accounting (IMA) Award — Justin Araki, North East, Pennsylvania
  • Association for Supply Chain and Operations Management (APICS) Award — Nicholas McKee, Bridgeville, Pennsylvania
  • Business Club Leader — Brianna Riley, Bethel Park, Pennsylvania.
  • Business Economics/Economics — Nicholas Findley, Meadville, Pennsylvania; Natalie Szalajko, South Bend, Indiana
  • Delta Sigma Pi Scholarship Key Award — Jason Pettner, Beaver Falls, Pennsylvania
  • ETS Major Field Test Award — Zachary Boyd, Erie
  • Finance — Jason Pettner, Beaver Falls, Pennsylvania
  • Finance, World Campus — Prativa Luitel, Shelton, Connecticut; Stefan Moscalu, Lynchburg, Virginia
  • Interdisciplinary Business with Engineering Studies — Ashley Pettit, Meadville, Pennsylvania
  • International Business — Kristopher Knorr, Erie
  • Kenneth L. Spencer Award, Accounting — Luke Popovich, Indiana, Pennsylvania
  • Kenneth L. Spencer Award, Finance — Matthew F. Colpoys, Erie
  • Management Information Systems — Anna Reed, Erie
  • Marketing Katharina Becker, San Juan, Puerto Rico
  • Master of Business Administration, Erie Lizabeth Gerber Lewis, Erie
  • Master of Business Administration, Cranberry Township — Brett Tucker, Apollo, Pennsylvania
  • Professional Readiness Award — Adam Wisniewski, Erie
  • Project and Supply Chain Management — Parker Faix, Cranberry Township, Pennsylvania
  • Student Entrepreneur Award — Yu Ting Wang, Taichung, Taiwan
  • Outstanding Honors Graduate Award Jason Pettner, Beaver Falls, Pennsylvania


  • Corey N. Farrell Nonfiction Award — John Patrick Jarecki, Fairview, Pennsylvania
  • Clarence A. and Eugenie Baumann Smith Fiction Award — Alexandria Smiley, Union City, Pennsylvania
  • Kenneth Jonathan Sonnenberg Poetry Award — Alexandria Smiley, Union City, Pennsylvania
  • Outstanding Achievement in Communication — Echo Seiersen, Erie
  • Outstanding Creative Writing Major — Taylor Powell, West Springfield, Pennsylvania
  • Outstanding English Major — Kymberly Drapcho, Erie
  • Outstanding English and Professional Writing Major — Amy Kiehl, Fairview, Pennsylvania
  • Best Contributing History Major — Eden Safar, Monroeville, Pennsylvania
  • Dr. John Rossi Excellence in Undergraduate Research Award — Samuel Garwig, Harborcreek, Pennsylvania; Dylan Perry, Moon Township, Pennsylvania
  • Outstanding Political Science Major — Echo Seiersen, Erie
  • Zachary T. Irwin Humanitarian Award — Jaclyn Mitchell, Erie
  • Outstanding Psychology Student Christina Murzynski, Erie; Chelsea Ptak, Erie
  • Outstanding Scholarly Achievement in Psychology — Bryce Chong, Singapore
  • Myron Jones Broadcasting Award — Rachel Cotton, Media, Pennsylvania
  • Outstanding Elementary and Early Childhood Education Graduate — Janine Zaunegger, Erie


  • Academic Excellence in Biology Sean Artello, Erie
  • Aaron Meehl Biology Award — Rachael Adams, Erie; Gunjan Patel, Waynesburg, Pennsylvania
  • Academic Excellence in Chemistry — Alexandra Alfonso Castro, Carolina, Puerto Rico
  • Outstanding Freshman in Chemistry/American Chemical Society Award — Windsor Lundy, Bettendorf, Iowa
  • Academic Excellence in Environmental Science — Celeste Bentley, Erie; Grace Schoeniger, New Tripoli, Pennsylvania
  • CRC/Outstanding Freshman — Erin Loc, Henniker, North Carolina
  • Mathematics Competition Award — Kade Kolheffer, Millford, Pennsylvania
  • Academic Excellence in Mathematics — Lauren Minner, Erie
  • Most Promising Freshman in Mathematics — Patricia Brotherson, Erie; Angela M. Dale, Clinton, Pennsylvania
  • Academic Excellence in Physics — Jonathon Schrecengost, Greensburg, Pennsylvania


  • Computer Engineering — Dylan Hoffman, Evans City, Pennsylvania
  • Computer Science — Andres Valenzuela, Cranberry Township, Pennsylvania
  • Electrical Engineering — Tyrell Yoder, Hadley, Pennsylvania
  • Electrical and Computer Engineering Technology — Arkadiy Burdak, Erie
  • Industrial Engineering — Katherine Collins, Harleysville, Pennsylvania
  • Mechanical Engineering — Derek J. Shaffer, Stoneboro, Pennsylvania
  • Mechanical Engineering Technology — Jeremy Main, Warren, Pennsylvania
  • Plastics Engineering Technology — Ryan Bauer, Tionesta, Pennsylvania
  • Software Engineering — Johanna Appallonia Hardner, Erie
  • Master of Manufacturing Management William Jones, Meadville, Pennsylvania
  • Jake Boyle Memorial Award — Nolan Beresford, Greensburg, Pennsylvania


  • B.S.N. Academic Excellence Moran McBride, Hermitage, Pennsylvania
  • RN to B.S.N. Academic Excellence Patricia Donnelly, Erie
  • Excellence in Professional Nursing and Caring Lauren Myers, Kane, Pennsylvania; Megan Thorpe, Albion, Pennsylvania