Behrend student leaders honored for service and campus engagement

Members of Behrend Benefiting THON post with awards at the Excellence in Leadership and Service Awards at Penn State Behrend.

The Excellence in Leadership and Service Awards at Penn State Behrend included honors for Behrend Benefiting THON. The team and its adviser received the Larry and Kathryn Smith Philanthropy Award.

Credit: Penn State Behrend

ERIE, Pa. — Student leaders and student-run clubs and organizations were recognized for their work at Penn State Behrend’s annual Excellence in Student Leadership and Service Awards on April 18.

The program, which was held in McGarvey Commons, honored the tradition of student involvement at the college, which is celebrating its 75th anniversary.

“Even in 1948, there were student organizations, including a student council and a campus newspaper, known then as the ‘Nittany Cub,’” said Ken Miller, senior director of administration and student affairs. “Seventy-five years later, you, the students, continue to shape the life of the college.”

Two staff members also were recognized at the program: Mike Lindner, director of Housing and Food Services, received the Outstanding Student Organization Advisor Award for his work with Behrend Benefiting THON. Kim Lynch, an administrative support assistant in the Office of Student Leadership and Involvement, received the Benjamin A. Lane Outstanding Service Award, which honors a staff or faculty member who has demonstrated outstanding service and dedication to Behrend.

Other award recipients included:

Leadership Awards

  • Outstanding Student Organization Award — Organization of Latin American Students (OLAS)
  • Outstanding Student Organization President Award — Mikayla MacQuarrie, Pulaski
  • Outstanding Student Organization Officer Award — Connor McQuiston, Wexford
  • Outstanding Student Organization Member Award — Jordan Haas, Erie
  • Outstanding Collaborative Program Award — Niagara Hall and School of Engineering, for the Cardboard Boat Race
  • Outstanding Program Award – GASE (Gender and Sexuality Equality Club), for the Halloween Drag Show
  • Guy W. Wilson Award for Service to the College — Brooke Korb, Erie
  • Student Government Association President’s Award — Anisha Tiwari, Erie
  • Penn State Behrend Alumni Society Leadership Award — Justin Banko, New Castle
  • Irvin H. Kochel Lion Ambassador Award — Haley Allen, Tarentum; Zane Lewis, Erie; and Marissa Moretti, Pittsburgh
  • The Pride of the Lion Award — Samuel Rosario, Muncy
  • Outstanding Adult Learner Award — Vanity Lomax, Erie
  • BBLAC Emerging Leader Award — Chibuike Odibeli, Lagos, Louisiana

Service Awards

  • Christopher M. Geitner Award — N. Khamis, Erie
  • Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Individual Service Award — Jenna Seigworth, Oil City
  • Dr. Martin Luther King Organization Award — GASE
  • Larry and Kathryn Smith Philanthropy Award — Behrend Benefiting THON
  • Excellence in Service Award — Student PSEA (Professional Student Education Association)

Heather Cass

Publications and design coordinator

Penn State Erie, The Behrend College

Work Phone