Lake Effect, Volume 9

Lake Effect, Volume 9

Lake Effect, Srinf 2005, Volume 9, Front Cover Photo


Spring 2005
Volume 9

Edith Pearlman’s Self-Reliance reprinted in
The Best American Short Stories 2006, edited by Ann Pritchett.

Abby Frucht’s “The Wetting” listed as a Notable Essay of 2005 in
The Best American Essays 2006, edited by Lauren Slater.


Contributors and Samples:

Meena Alexander
Tim Applegate
Lana Hechtman Ayers
Karen Babine
Krystal Bates (Rebman Fiction Award. Judge: Brian Evenson)
Caren Beilin
David Bergman
Laurie Blauner
Thomas Bonfiglio   ---   from Anglers
Daniel Bourne
Matthew Brennan
Andrea Hollander Budy
Scott Cairns
Barbara Siegel Carlson
O.J. Cartaya
Lynn Domina
James Doyle
Denise Duhamel
Angie Estes   ---   Palinode
R.M. Evans (Farrell Creative Nonfiction Award. Judge: Debora Digges)
Abby Frucht
John Gallaher
James Grabill
Gwen Hart
Michael Heffernan
T.R. Hummer   ---   Rather Than Nothing
Mark Irwin
David James
Laura Kasischke
David Kirby
Gerry LaFemina
Michael Martone
Melanie McCabe
Edith Pearlman   ---   from Self-Reliance
Lawrence Raab
Doug Ramspeck
Tom Rechtin
Arthur Saltzman   ---   from Falling with Style
Catherine Sasanov
Douglas Smith
Joe Taylor
Chase Twitchell
Lee Upton
F. Keith Wahle
Renee Wells
Gabriel Welsch
Francine Witte
Corey Zeller (Sonnenberg Poetry Award. Judge: Al Maginnes)
Art Zileruelo

Editorial Staff

Lake Effect, Spring 2005, Volume 9, George Looney, Editor Photo

George Looney

Lake Effect, Spring 2005, Volume 9, T.C. Phillips, Fiction Editor
Fiction Editor:
 T.C. Phillips

Lake Effect, Spring 2005, Volume 9, Jen Town, Poetry Editor
Poetry Editor: 
Jen Town 

Lake Effect, Spring 2005, Volume 9, Michael McEwan, Nonfiction Editor, Photo
Nonfiction Editor:
Michael McEwan

Lake Effect, Spring 2005, Volume 9, Rachel Evans, Nonfiction Editro, Rachel Evans, Photo
​Nonfiction Editor:
Rachel Evans
Consulting Editors: Sean Thomas Dougherty, Tom Noyes

Assistant Editors: Lisa Akus, April Ames, Jason Booth, Justin Brusino, Keith Doak, Patrick Doyle,
Amanda Dziubkowski, Jefrie Funtal, Brittany Hess, Kimberly Pitek, Bradley Stewart, Corey Zeller

Cover Artist: Suzanne Proulx
Cover Design: Chris Majerik
Technical Consultant: Wendy Kallgren


Copyright © 2005 Lake Effect & respective artists
​Information, images and creative work on this website
may not be reproduced, republished, or mirrored.